BWB_mainmap

Following on from yesterdays post about planning the boating Season ahead, I went a little map-mad and so today I thought I’d share a range of people’s representations of the current extent of our waterway system. Just looking at them whets my appetite for turning the engine and heading out!

Personally there’s something about the third map that I find very pleasing.

canalsmap002testa

British Waterways Handbook 19527-001

And, of course, we all have our favourite canals, in my case I’ve had a fascination with all things Cromford Canal since childhood. Despite living in London for years, simply savouring the names on the map below reconnects me to a raft of childhood/teenhood memories and experiences.

map_large

Enjoy planning your trip, and a safe road ahead, I’m looking forward to reading blogger/boater’s adventures as the year unfolds..

Leave a Reply

