I really enjoy looking at the bits & bobs that combine to make the totality such a  rewarding and creative experience.

As anyone who’s read my Painted Ware posts will know, I have a huge admiration for anyone attempting to paint a traditional Water Can, it’s much trickier than you might think!

There were outstanding examples of people’s skills and artistry on show at this year’s Canal Cavalcade, as hopefully the following set of Water Can photos show.

DSC03622

DSC03628

DSC03635

DSC03638

DSC03639

DSC03642

DSC03650

DSC03651

DSC03654

DSC03657

DSC03658

DSC03659

DSC03660

DSC03661

DSC03663

DSC03664

DSC03665

DSC03666

DSC03676

 

If these photos have peeked your interest, there’s more Cavalcade Cans HERE.

2 thoughts on “Cavalcade’s Crop of Cans

  1. I’m worried you’d be very disappointed if you saw my modern take on a painted can! As you say, painting it, even without all the decoration is surprisingly tricky.

    Like

    1. Hi Adam

      I saw on your blog that you were painting up a can to reflect the colour scheme of your boat. I think that’s a fine idea, I wish more people would have a go too.

      I’m a glutton for punishment I reckon, trying to paint a can with roses, BCN patterns and all manner of flourishes and whatnots, still it keeps me off the street in the evening, and to be honest I find the level of concentration I need to use to make even a half decent job kind of relaxing.

      I must get some of that undercoat you used…

      best wishes

      Nick

      Like

Leave a Reply

