IMG_6791

I bought this battered die-cast toy engine off e-bay. It cost me 99p. I’m not sure what attracted me to it, other than a vague desire to give it a home.

It’s small enough to be comfortably cradled in my hand. It has a satisfying weightiness. There are no manufacturer’s mark, nor hint to it’s provenance.

It’s a bit of a mystery.

And a wonderfully poignant object, I can only guess at the hours of play it’s generated, and the scrapes, the adventures it’s been through.

I imagine a 1950’s lad, in a too-tight school blazer and cap, stuffing it into his pocket, with hankie and conkers, with catapult and other treasures…

If only I could find out more.

IMG_1892a

3 thoughts on “Reflecting on a Small Toy…

    1. Hi Graham, do you know whether Lone Star made larger toy trains as this model is 12cm long and 6cm tall, more OO gauge than N gauge?
      cheers

      Nick

      Like

      1. Greetings Nick. Definitely about 00/H0 then. Could be any date from the thirties onwards. It has flanges so was designed to be pushed along a track although from the state of it I reckon it spent more time on the lino. Definitely been loved, played with and well abused. Most of my diecast models ended up looking a bit like that. As for too tight blazers, Mother always bought mine several sizes too large in the vague hope I would grow into them. After a term or two being used as goalposts, rolled in the mud and general contact with a variety of rough surfaces that ambition was never achieved and I would be hauled off to the school outfitters for yet another oversized garment. They always looked very fetching with Granny’s hand knitted fairisle sleeveless jumper under them.
        Yours Aye,
        Graham.

        Like

Leave a Reply

